Apple-pear crumble pie

My sister had a barbeque party this past weekend.
I love having guests over as that is my chance to experiment with many recipes from my archive without waste. For my little brother’s friends, I tend to make a lot of bars or cookies with ample chocolate and peanut butter, not so much different for my big sister. Therefore, I was going for another chocolatey recipe and at the last moment, I changed my mind as soon as I came across this super-easy recipe from Craft.

It is called an apple-pear crumble.
Luckily I had most of the ingredients on hands. Well, I guess that is why I chose this over other myriad ones:) Also, it was a beautiful summer day and I needed something fruity to complement the night for my sister and her guests!

It was a big hit, no, a HUGE hit. It was gone in no time and my sister was incredulous at how much her friends loved thsi dessert. It is not too sweet yet the natural sweetness of apple and pear with the cinnamon-ey crumb, enhanced by the subtle richness of the cream cheese base makes it a perfect finish for barbeque!

I am not proficient at making pie crust yet (J’m working on it!!!) so I used the store-bought pie crust, which saved a lot of time.

Sometimes I get annoyed by all those recipes from the Craft magazine that call for hundreds of their products. But a lot of them are so simple to make and taste good! What more would you want from recipes?

Enjoy this light fruit pie! It’s a must-try and I loved it so much that I intend to make another one tomorrow for my collegues at work.

 

Apple-Pear Crumble Pie
From Craft Magazine
Makes 10 servings

  • 3/4 cup crushed wafer cookies (about 24 wafers – Nilla Wafers are suggested)
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 ready-to-use refrigerated pie crust (1/2 of 15 oz pkg)
  • 4 oz (1/2 of 8 oz pkg) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 large baking apples, peeled, sliced
  • 1 large pear, peeled, sliced
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups thawed whipped topping
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.  Mix wafer crumbs, brown sugar and butter until well blended; set aside. 
  2. Place pie crust in 9-inch pie plate.  Spread cream cheese carefully onto bottom of crust; sprinkle with half of the crumb mixture.  Set aside.  Combine fruit in large bowl.  Add granulated sugar, flour and cinnamon; toss to coat.  Spoon over crumb layer in pie crust; sprinkle with remaining crumb mixture. 
  3. Bake 35 minutes or until fruit is tender and crust is lightly browned, covering loosely with foil after 25 minutes if necessary to prevent crust from overbrowning.  Cool on wire rack.  Serve with the whipped topping.  Store any leftovers in refrigerator. 

Substitute: Try ground ginger in place of ground cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

