October

I keep a few of my favourite classics at bedside to go back reading time and again whenever I feel wistful of my childhood. Anne of Green Gables is one of them. How I adore Anne, her imagination and positive outlook on life. Anne also loves October, just like me and every October I think of the following lines from the book.

October was a beautiful month at Green Gables, when the birches in the hollow turned as golden as sunshine and the maples behind the orchard were royal crimson and the wild cherry trees along the lane put on the loveliest shades of dark red and bronzy green, while the fields sunned themselves in aftermaths

Anne would tell Marilla it would be terrible to live in a world where there are no Octobers. And I concur with her wholeheartedly. I love October with leaves changing colours to fiery red and golden yellow, cold crisp air, the thought of warm drinks and hearty soups (the weather makes me want to drink more tea not my usual dose of coffee.)

And starting October we see more and more of sweet potatoes and all kinds of ugly but adorable winter squashes and orange pumpkins piled up in grocery stores- oh I love it. October so far was nice. there was Thanksgiving here in Canada so my family celebrated the day with the usual turkey (roasted with apple, cinnamon sticks, onion, and rosemary/sage/thyme inside the cavity), pumpkin black bean salad with candied pecans, and a pumpkin pie. It was a good weekend filled with laugher, warmth, and love. I adore my home.

Then back to Toronto – I’ve been quite busy. This Saturday felt good with cleaning up the house, cooking, catching up on shows, reading a bit. Also the weather was gorgeous- it was a pure joy but it’s a shame because I realized last night that I probably should have gone out to a park or something. At times I feel trapped in this ultra high rise condo in the heart of downtown. Convenient? Yes. Lacking natural touch? Absolutely. I feel quite removed from surrounding to be honest. There are too many buildings all the time around me.

In my university days, the city I lived in was hands-down beautiful. Small community, lake at the foot of the campus, student neighbourhood lined up with trees. I walked everywhere, too. I never thought I would say this but am I the only one missing school? I miss it. I miss studying for my classes (my history courses were amazing), I miss living with my best friends, our small but cozy house, fresh air, beautiful limestone Starbucks I used to go to study ‘bird courses’.  October, this fall weather, makes me want to go back to all these. But for now I’m going to be grown-up about it and be happy with the memory.

I roasted squash. Eat it mashed with a bit of maple syrup or put it in a salad with asian dressing- makes a world of difference in your salad.

Made myself a cup of vanilla tea.

It’s mid-October already. I want to savour every remaining day. Happy October!

Leave a Reply

